2016 Goodreads Challenge – COMPLETED!!

2016-goodreads-challenge-banner

In 2016 I committed to reading 50 books. Because I am a moron.

Now ordinarily, that wouldn’t be an issue. It doesn’t even amount to a book per week. However, I am a Ph.D. student. Free time is not something I have a great deal of, and most of the reading I do for that is in the form of articles. However, I have carved out a 30- to 45-minute time slot in my weekday mornings specifically for reading material unrelated to my studies, which is almost beyond the realms of comprehension, I can’t even describe it to you. Also, I am counting the books I read (in entirety) for my studies towards this challenge, because they’re still books!

The books I read for my Goodreads challenge can be found here, but just in case, I’ll also list them below. Enjoy 🙂

  1. Naked in Death, J.D. Robb
  2. Post-Mortem, Patricia Cornwell
  3. Glory In Death, J.D. Robb
  4. One for the Money, Janet Evanovich
  5. Two for the Dough, Janet Evanovich
  6. Guilty Pleasures, Laurell K. Hamilton
  7. Immortal in Death, J.D. Robb
  8. Full House, Janet Evanovich
  9. Three to get Deadly, Janet Evanovich
  10. @War, Shane Harris
  11. The Poet, Michael Connelly
  12. The Reaper, Nicholas Irving
  13. American Sniper, Chris Kyle
  14. The Martian, Andy Weir
  15. Security in Translation, Holger Stritzel
  16. A Blind Eye, Julie Daines
  17. China’s Foreign Policy, Stuart Harris
  18. Cyber War Versus Cyber Realities, Brandon Valeriano & Ryan C. Maness
  19. Ethics and the Future of Spying, Jai Galliott & Warren Reed (Eds.)
  20. Mastermind: How to Think Like Sherlock Holmes, Maria Konnikova
  21. Glass Houses, Joel Brenner
  22. Black Code, Ronald J. Deibert
  23. Dragnet Nation, Julia Angwin
  24. Worm, Mark Bowden
  25. The Closing of the Net, Monica Horten
  26. Tarzan of the Apes & The Return of Tarzan, Edgar Rice Burroughs
  27. Democracy Declassified, Michael P. Colaresi
  28. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, Jules Verne
  29. The Ethics of Intelligence, Ross W. Bellaby
  30. Conan the Barbarian, Robert E. Howard
  31. Peter Pan & Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens, James M. Barrie
  32. Black Beauty, Anna Sewell
  33. Call of the Wild, Jack London
  34. Security: A New Framework for Analysis, Buzan, Waever & De Wilde
  35. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Mark Twain
  36. Treasure Island, Robert Louis Stevenson
  37. The Time Machine, H.G. Wells
  38. Jurassic Park, Michael Crichton
  39. The Final Empire, Brandon Sanderson
  40. Ancients, David Lynn Golemon
  41. The Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad
  42. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde & Other Stories, Robert Louis Stevenson
  43. American Assassin, Vince Flynn
  44. King Solomon’s Mines, H. Rider Haggard
  45. Oxford Very Short Introduction to Modern Art, David Cottington
  46. The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame
  47. Saving Money: The 40 Tip Cheat Sheet for Peace of Mind, Effective Budgeting and Financial Success, Zach Lees
  48. El Estudiante de Salamanca, Jose de Espronceda
  49. The Time of My Life, Patrick Swayze and Lisa Niemi
  50. A Simple Path: Basic Buddhist Teachings by His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Dalai Lama XIV

 



Categories: 2016 Reading Challenges, Goodreads, Reading Challenges

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I struggled with Tarzan, maybe it was just me but I found the language quite hard going.

    Like

  2. I did try really I did, and then I thought to myself ‘why struggle reading this book when Clive Cussler’s Dragon is so much more exciting’

    Like

Leave a comment